New Chitose to Sapporo for 6: ¥6,140, from 33 minutes.
The default is the JR Rapid Airport.
A family of 6 landing at New Chitose has three worries: can everyone get on with their suitcases, how many changes are there to the station nearest your stay, and what happens if winter stops the trains? The default is the JR Rapid Airport, ¥6,140 one way to Sapporo for a family of 6 (calculated from official fares as of September 2026). During the day there are 6 trains an hour, so if your flight is late you just wait for the next one.
This article contains promotional content (PR). We include Klook affiliate links for booking airport transfers, transport tickets, experiences, and luggage delivery. If you book through these links, we may earn a commission to help run the site (at no extra cost to you). Options not covered by our partners, such as JR and other public transport, are compared neutrally.
How to chooseWhere you stay decides what you ride
The answer: if you are staying near Sapporo or Otaru station, take the JR Rapid Airport. If you have more than one suitcase each, arrive at night, or are going straight to a stay at Asarigawa Onsen, a private transfer from the airport is easier.
| Where you stay | How to get there |
|---|---|
| Sapporo (Odori, Kotoni) | JR Rapid Airport to Sapporo Station (fastest 33 min) → change to the subway |
| Around Otaru Station | The direct Rapid Airport to Otaru (fastest 73 min), or the Otaru direct bus from the airport (about 90 min, 3 round trips a day) |
| Asarigawa Onsen | The Rapid Airport bound for Otaru to Otaru-Chikko Station (no change) → Chuo Bus (roughly once an hour during the day). By rental car, about 5 min from Asari IC on the Sasson (Sapporo–Otaru) Expressway |
| Lots of luggage, or arriving at night | A private transfer from the airport (confirm the vehicle when booking, entering 6 people and the number of bags) |
If you are going to Niseko or Rusutsu, that is a different trip: see New Chitose Airport to Niseko and Rusutsu.
Fares for 6¥6,140 for 6 to Sapporo, ¥10,200 to Otaru
The answer: from New Chitose Airport, the JR Rapid Airport in non-reserved seats costs ¥6,140 to Sapporo Station and ¥10,200 to Otaru Station (calculated).
The amounts in this article are for 6: two parents, two elementary-school children and two grandparents.
| To | 5 (4 adults + 1 child) | 6 (4 adults + 2 children) | 7 (4 adults + 3 children) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sapporo Station | ¥5,530 | ¥6,140 | ¥6,750 |
| Otaru Station | ¥9,180 | ¥10,200 | ¥11,220 |
- To Sapporo: adults ¥1,230 × 4 + elementary-school children ¥610 × 2 = ¥6,140
- To Otaru: adults ¥2,040 × 4 + elementary-school children ¥1,020 × 2 = ¥10,200
- Children's fares are calculated at half the adult fare (rounded down to the nearest ¥10).
- Grandparents pay adult fares too. We did not check senior discounts.
- If your party is made up differently, each extra adult adds ¥1,230 to Sapporo and ¥2,040 to Otaru.
The u-Seat reserved seat costs an extra ¥1,000 per seat (half for children), or ¥800 (half for children) with the ticketless seat reservation for conventional lines on eki-net, JR East's online booking service. Seating all 6 (4 adults + 2 elementary-school children) adds ¥5,000 with paper tickets or ¥4,000 ticketless. u-Seats are only in car 4, one of six cars. They go on sale at 10:00 one month before the travel date, so book them as soon as your dates are set (JR Hokkaido).
Lots of luggage? Go from the airport to your stay by private transfer
More than one suitcase each, arriving at night, or heading straight to Asarigawa Onsen: if any of these applies, a private transfer is easier.
Prices vary by party size and vehicle. For 6 people and 6 suitcases, aim for a 10-seater (9 people, up to 9 bags) rather than a 7-seater (6 people, up to 4 bags) (Klook's vehicle listing, October 2026). Enter 6 people and your number of bags on the booking page to check.
6 trains an hour during the day. With lots of luggage, the reserved seats in car 4
The answer: during the day there are 6 trains an hour, from 33 minutes to Sapporo. If you have big luggage, choose the u-Seat reserved seats (car 4), where there is room to put it.
Rapid Airport trains per hour during the day (9:00–16:59): 1 Special Rapid, 3 Rapid and 2 Section Rapid.
163 trains a day. During the day that averages one every 10 minutes.
Times are from the September 2026 timetable. Orange stations are where you change (Sapporo = subway to Odori and Kotoni; Otaru-Chikko = Chuo Bus to Asarigawa Onsen).
1. 33–43 minutes to Sapporo JR Hokkaido
Special Rapid from 33 min, Rapid from 37 min, Section Rapid from 43 min (the daytime Special Rapid takes from 36 min).
2. Direct to Otaru JR Hokkaido
From 73 minutes. Trains bound for Otaru also stop at JR Kotoni and Otaru-Chikko (September 2026 timetable).
3. Luggage goes in the u-Seat car JR Hokkaido
The u-Seat reserved seats in car 4 have room for large luggage. You can pay the fare with a transport IC card, but the seat reservation is bought separately.
- New Chitose Airport Station is on basement level 1 of the domestic terminal, and its ticket gates connect directly to the domestic departure and arrival areas. The international terminal is linked to it by a connecting facility (with moving walkways), so if you land on an international flight, go through the connecting facility to the domestic terminal and down to the station on B1 (New Chitose Airport official guide). No official walking time is given.
- The Japan Rail Pass covers JR rapid and local trains, so you can ride the Rapid Airport in non-reserved seats with it (Japan Rail Pass official coverage). Under the pass's official rules you can also reserve seats on rapid trains at no extra charge, but u-Seats are not mentioned by name. The official Japan Rail Pass and Hokkaido Rail Pass sites also say that the number of seats for pass holders is limited, and you may not be able to reserve one even when seats are free.
- The seats in car 4 can be turned around (JR Hokkaido). Whether 6 can get seats together in the same section is not stated officially. If you cannot, plan on sitting in groups of 2 or 3.
For Odori and Kotoni, change to the subway at Sapporo
The answer: for a stay in Odori or Kotoni, change at JR Sapporo Station to the Namboku subway line, then at Odori Station to the Tozai line.
- Sapporo → Odori: 1 minute on the Namboku line. Odori → Kotoni: 11 minutes on the Tozai line (walking time for the change not included).
- Subway fares are set by distance zones (zone 1 ¥210, zone 2 ¥250, zone 3 ¥290…; children ¥110, ¥130, ¥150…). Junior-high-school age and up pay adult fares; preschool children ride free, up to 4 per adult.
- That makes two changes with suitcases. If you have a lot of luggage, consider a private transfer from the airport to your stay.
- Take a Rapid Airport bound for Otaru and you can reach JR Kotoni Station with no change. But the Kotoni villa is about 2 minutes on foot from Kotoni subway station, against 12–13 minutes from JR Kotoni Station.
- There is also an airport bus to Maruyama Bus Terminal (directly connected to Maruyama-koen Station on the Tozai subway line) (adults ¥1,500, children ¥750, Hokuto Kotsu fare table). We could not confirm the connections and times for heading on to Kotoni by bus.
How to choose a stay in Kotoni is in Sapporo and Otaru stays where 6 share one room.
Otaru and Asarigawa OnsenFor Asarigawa Onsen, change to the Chuo Bus at Otaru-Chikko
The answer: for the area around Otaru Station, take the direct JR train or the Otaru direct bus. For Asarigawa Onsen, take the JR train bound for Otaru to Otaru-Chikko Station with no change, then change to the Chuo Bus.
| Option | Time and frequency | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| JR Rapid Airport (bound for Otaru) | Fastest 73 min to Otaru Station. About 70 min to Otaru-Chikko Station (67–76 min in the timetable) | Stops at Kotoni and Otaru-Chikko |
| Otaru direct bus (Hokkaido Chuo Bus) | About 90 min, 3 round trips a day (from the airport at 10:38, 13:38 and 15:38), adults ¥2,300 | No reservation needed; suitcases go in the luggage hold. You may not get on if it is full. Does not stop at Otaru-Chikko or Asari |
| Chuo Bus, Asarigawa Onsen line | About 18 min from Otaru-Chikko Station to Onsen Sakaue (温泉坂上). Roughly once an hour during the day (9:00–17:59); first bus from Otaru-Chikko around 7:00, last around 21:00. Adults ¥410 | Summer timetable revised 1 April 2026 (Chuo Bus timetable). The winter timetable usually starts in December (1 December in 2024), and winter 2026 times have not been announced yet |
- The Otaru direct bus started on 1 April 2025 and stops at places such as Otaru Station and Otaru Canal Terminal.
- The property listing gives Onsen Sakaue (温泉坂上) as the nearest stop to the Asarigawa Onsen cottages. It is on the stop list of the Asarigawa Onsen line, about 18 minutes from Otaru-Chikko Station (Chuo Bus timetable).
- The fare from Otaru Station to Asarigawa Onsen is ¥410 for adults (Chuo Bus timetable). We could not confirm the children's fare.
- The Kosoku Otaru express bus between Sapporo and Otaru also stops at Otaru-Chikko Station (useful on the day you move from Sapporo).
- By rental car, it is about 5 minutes from Asari IC on the Sasson (Sapporo–Otaru) Expressway to the cottages, and parking there is free (reservation required). We could not confirm the driving time from the airport to Asari IC.
Staying in Chuo-ku or Kita-ku, Sapporo? Send your luggage ahead to the hotel
The answer: for hotels in Chuo-ku and Kita-ku, Sapporo, there is a same-day luggage delivery service from the airport. Kotoni (Nishi-ku) and Otaru are not covered.
- Delivery is to Chuo-ku and Kita-ku in Sapporo (Shin-Sapporo is not covered). From ¥1,870 per item; book by 23:00 the day before (Welcome to Sapporo tourism site).
- If your stay is not covered, the surest way is to take your luggage with you in a private transfer.
If winter stops the trains, take the airport bus to Sapporo
The answer: when heavy snow stops or delays JR, take the airport bus into central Sapporo. No reservation is needed, and suitcases go in the luggage hold under the floor.
- New Chitose Airport ⇔ central Sapporo (Sapporo Station, Susukino): adults ¥1,500, children (6–12) ¥750. The bus to Maruyama Bus Terminal costs the same (revised 1 April 2026, Hokuto Kotsu fare table). For 4 adults + 2 elementary-school children, ¥7,500.
- Pay in cash, by contactless credit card or with PayPay. Transport IC cards such as Suica cannot be used (Hokuto Kotsu FAQ).
- The bus uses the expressway, so everyone must be seated with a seat belt on (no standing; Hokuto Kotsu FAQ). How fares work for children under 6 is not stated officially.
- For Otaru, there is the Otaru direct bus (3 round trips a day; from the airport at 10:38, 13:38 and 15:38, Hokkaido Chuo Bus timetable for October 2026). It runs rarely, and you may not get on if it is full.
Honest caveats
These are things we have not been able to verify, so we do not assert them.
The u-Seat charge was revised on 14 March 2026
It went up from ¥840 to ¥1,000 (¥800 ticketless on eki-net). Guides still showing the old ¥840 are around.
Seats together on the u-Seat, and reserving with a pass, are not certain
Whether 6 can get u-Seats in the same section is not stated officially. Reserving with a pass is free under the rules, but u-Seats are not named, and the number of seats for pass holders is limited (riding in non-reserved seats is confirmed officially).
We did not look into how often trains stop in winter
We only say that heavy snow can stop them. We give no figures for how often.
The winter timetable for the Asarigawa Onsen line is not out yet
The times and frequency given are from the summer timetable revised on 1 April 2026. The winter timetable usually starts in December (1 December in 2024), and winter 2026 times have not been announced. The name of the stop nearest the cottages comes from the property listing.
The airport bus fare went up on 1 April 2026
It is now ¥1,500 for adults and ¥750 for children to central Sapporo and Maruyama. Guides showing the old ¥1,200 and ¥1,300 are still around. How fares work for children under 6 is not stated officially.
Child-fare categories
Child-fare categories are defined differently by each operator, and the official sites do not always state them. In this article we write only what we could confirm, and leave out anything we could not confirm. Always check how ages and headcounts are counted when you book.
New Chitose Airport to Sapporo and Otaru FAQ
How much is it for 6 from New Chitose Airport to Sapporo?
On the JR Rapid Airport in non-reserved seats, ¥6,140 for 4 adults + 2 elementary-school children (calculated from fares as of September 2026).
Can we go by train with 6 suitcases?
The u-Seat reserved seats (car 4) have room for large luggage. On the airport bus, suitcases go in the hold under the floor. For stays in Chuo-ku and Kita-ku, Sapporo, there is same-day luggage delivery; otherwise you can also use a private transfer.
Is the train or the bus better for Otaru?
For the area around Otaru Station, the direct JR train (from 73 minutes) or the Otaru direct bus (about 90 minutes, 3 round trips a day). For Asarigawa Onsen, take the JR train bound for Otaru to Otaru-Chikko Station with no change, then change to the Chuo Bus.
What do we do if the trains stop in winter?
Take the airport bus into central Sapporo (adults ¥1,500, children ¥750, no reservation needed; transport IC cards cannot be used). For Otaru, there is the Otaru direct bus.
Lots of luggage or arriving at night? Take a private transfer to your stay
Ride JR, or go straight to your stay? Decide by the number of people and suitcases.
For Rapid Airport times and reserved seats, see JR Hokkaido's official site (not a partner).
Check transfer prices and vehicles on the booking page, and train service status on JR Hokkaido's official site.
📍 This article is part of Transport ・ See also places to stay


